theKingdom

Student Renewal Week – [Speaker] Jared Bishop

Sinner’s have nothing, so when they are brought to Christ they’ll give everything to keep him.

Christians who grow up (I’m victim to this as well) kind of have Christ all their lives, starting from an early age if born into a Christian household. This isn’t a bad thing I’m just saying we/I take him for granted, and while doing this we run from him pursuing idols and material things rather than pursuing God. Seeking non-God idols will lead us down a path of unwanted, tireless messes. Like David after committing adultery with Bathsheba in Psalms 51:10-12, I ask God to…

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from your presence, and take not your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit.”

Parable of the Two Sons [Matthew 21:28-32]

“What do you think? A man had two sons. And he went to the first and said, Son, go and work in the vineyard today. And he answered, I will not, but afterward he changed his mind and went. And he went to the other son and said the same. And he answered, I go, sir, but did not go. Which of the two did the will of his father? They said, The first. Jesus said to them, Truly, I say to you, the tax collectors and the prostitutes go into the kingdom of God before you.

For John came to you in the way of righteousness, and you did not believe him, but the tax collectors and the prostitutes believed him. And even when you saw it, you did not afterward change your minds and believe him.”