Changing the World Around You

Use the talents God has given you to make the world a better place to live in

First, I’m sorry for it being so long since my last post. I’ve had a hard time being able to sit still these past few months (since Nov. ’13). Becoming the Director of Media and Communications at my home church, Calvary Christian Church has had it’s ups and downs. It’s been a year since I’ve started here, and the experience I’ve had so far has been nothing short of beyond this world. From stepping into a position where I had to not only hit the ground running creating things (graphics, videos, text content), but be able to troubleshoot current existing ways of doing things in the media area, and find ways of improving it. Haha, I’m still waiting to tell if it’s better but I’m learning.

Growing up I dreamed of becoming a fighter pilot and flying for the U.S. Air Force. Little did I know God had a different plan for me. A little into my sophomore year of high school, I had a good friend show me a video he had created in his video production class. Needless to say I was hooked, more so about the iBook apple computer and Final Cut Pro, but from then on I knew I wanted to be in media sharing stories of others and traveling. Well since then I’ve done some traveling you can say, especially as a photographer for the U.S. Air Force (2007-2013), interning for the London Olympics (2012), and freelancing for various companies taking me around the US and abroad to Israel (2013). So by the age of 25 I’ve been to places that some have only dreamed of going one day. To say God has #blessed me with a great traveling life is an understatement. However, currently I find myself in another great place. My home.

Winchester, Ky., may not be the greatest town in the US or this world, but it’s where God has me now and I love it very much here. It’s where I’m growing as a leader, learning how to manage my time and others to effectively accomplish goals at hand. Do I plan to stay here for the rest of my life, no, but if God wills it, yes. As always though, I am thankful for this time of learning. The range of lessons from this past year could classify me as a veteran in some aspects. I’ve experienced hopelessness, stress beyond belief, and uncertain outcomes that should’ve crushed me, but I’ve come out on top. As a young leader, I’ve witnessed events that made senior leaders shake. For the first time in my life, I couldn’t talk for 5min. I tried, but I was in such a state of shock, my mouth wouldn’t open.

However, on the other hand, God has helped me conquer projects that looked out of my reach of expertise. I helped orchestrate a live broadcast to over 2,000 people scattered throughout a high school, via a small studio, 20 tvs, and hundreds of feet of sdi cable. Not to mention tapping into the intercom system so that we could broadcast the audio throughout the building as well (all planned and done within 1.5months). I’ve taken in information by the fire house amounts, and dished it out accordingly, so others could grow in their training. I was able to build a church app, that is now being able to help communicate vital information to our local church family, and as well give them the opportunity to watch past message series, give financially electronically, and sign up for groups.

I mean, the many things God is doing here through me is one of the reasons why I continue to stay here

I am on a daily basis overwhelmed by the good… and the bad things happening here in this town. I am in love with people of this town/world, but the actions of some make my stomach turn topsy turvy.

If I were to be very honest, I am scared for this generation. Turn on the news, and watch what’s going on… everywhere. Diseases spreading (some incurable), the Middle East in unrest, Russia and Rebels trying to takeover Ukraine, the Islamic State forcing people to conform to their beliefs – while killing the infidels, but worst of all… when we turn on the tv and see all of this happening, we change the channel because we’re tired of hearing about it thinking we can do nothing to stop it.

Seriously, what is wrong with us?

What have we lost that has made us act so evil and not care about other human lives. Remove yourself from this screen and imagine being somewhere where this is happening. Imagine yourself facing death if you won’t conform to the Islamic State’s rules, or imagine yourself finding out you have a disease that no one can cure – what then?

This should raise some questions inside your mind – what hope do we have, and how can we help the world? Well instead of thinking about what is wrong with us, I’ll ask the question, what are we missing?

Then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted[a] by the devil. After fasting forty days and forty nights, he was hungry. The tempter came to him and said, “If you are the Son of God, tell these stones to become bread.”

Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.’[b]

Then the devil took him to the holy city and had him stand on the highest point of the temple. “If you are the Son of God,” he said, “throw yourself down. For it is written:

“‘He will command his angels concerning you,
    and they will lift you up in their hands,
    so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.’[c]

Jesus answered him, “It is also written: ‘Do not put the Lord your God to the test.’[d]

Again, the devil took him to a very high mountain and showed him all the kingdoms of the world and their splendor. “All this I will give you,” he said, “if you will bow down and worship me.”

10 Jesus said to him, “Away from me, Satan! For it is written: ‘Worship the Lord your God, and serve him only.’[e]

11 Then the devil left him, and angels came and attended him.

Will we be tempted to sit by and simply let satan win the day? Or will we remember that there is life found in God’s Holy Word. “Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.” We should not assume that what we consume mentally and physically is not entirely what keeps us healthy. As the world has lost its grasp and sight of an Almighty God, it is unhealthy. The world wandering without direction has forgotten the healthiest thing we can do for our heart, mind, and soul is to feed it with the Word of God found in Biblical scripture. What is wrong with us is that we’ve tossed God to the side, creating an unhealthy world.

So, what shall we do about the international community that seems to never find rest from disease, war, and religion forced terror? We should pray for them for starters as if they we’re our own family. Being faithful for what we’ve been asked to do, sharing Christ’s love and saving grace with anyone that will listen, while waiting on God to come through with the outcome. Secondly, helping the world starts with your attitude towards your own community. Stop changing the channel because you’re tired of seeing the depressing news. Find your talents, get engaged, and serve in your local community to help make it a better place.

This world we live in, was entrusted to us, so let’s do our part in making it, and at least Winchester a healthier place to live in. Take in God’s Word, stop discarding it.

I pray that these thoughts that I have are not empty and worthless, but allow you the reader, to consider your current position. If you have the ability to get engaged and serve somewhere, please do, and use your freedom to do so. You never know when your life could actually effect someone else’s decision for eternal life.

John 3:

16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. 17 For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him. 18 Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe stands condemned already because they have not believed in the name of God’s one and only Son. 19 This is the verdict: Light has come into the world, but people loved darkness instead of light because their deeds were evil. 20 Everyone who does evil hates the light, and will not come into the light for fear that their deeds will be exposed. 21 But whoever lives by the truth comes into the light, so that it may be seen plainly that what they have done has been done in the sight of God.